“It was the summer between fourth and fifth grade….”

26 Aug

Most of the stories from my childhood start like this. Probably because I made the conscious decision to suppress all my memories from birth till well after the millennium, so any recollection I do have comes from my older sister who I frequently rely on to remember the past. And who always starts a story with “It was the summer…”. I’m not sure if summers were a particularly memorable time for her or if this is some ploy to intrigue a listener. Either way I rather enjoy it.

Anyhoo, for this particular story it was the summer before ninth grade. My mother had promised to take us to Disneyland that summer. Don’t get your hopes up she promised this every summer. Fingers crossed for June! Instead my parents got divorced that summer and we moved to Lincoln, NE. Don’t worry this isn’t one of those sad divorced parents stories we all love so much.

Lincoln, Nebraska isn’t exactly an exciting place to move to but being no stranger to moving (military brat) I knew my role and quickly blended in. New school, new teachers, no friends, awkward 15-year-old, ah nostalgia. I didn’t wanna be a teenager then and I’m certainly not one of those people who wishes to go back and relive those years. Good riddance I say.

We only lived there for a year (did I mention we moved a lot) but Lincoln wasn’t all bad. I met the best friend I still have to this day that year. And if it wasn’t for her living there I wouldn’t have moved back there (after 6 other moves) 4 years later, where I met my now husband. Funny how things work out isn’t it.

So there are a few things I do have to thank Nebraska and a cheating father for. See I told you it wouldn’t be sad. 🙂

One Response to ““It was the summer between fourth and fifth grade….””

  1. Cassandra Gimbel August 28, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    So it was the winter when I was in 11th grade and you were in 9th grade. (See I do have some stories that don’t take place in summer!! Though those were the best ones!) And we were driving from Nebraska to New York and mom wouldn’t put any music on because she was on the phone. And….. nevermind you know how this one goes!!!

Leave a Reply

