I <3 IKEA

30 Aug

I went to IKEA for the first time the other day (yes I’ve been living under a rock). I’ve always heard about how great the prices are and how they have everything but I was not prepared for what I walked into.

First of all they shouldn’t be allowed to call this a store at all, more like a small island or a wish-you-owned-all-of-this-cool-stuff-mansion. It’s literally set up like a furnished house, you know if your house had a bunch of all the same thing and price tags everywhere. Oh and did I mention it’s HUGE. My husband and I went with my cousin just to check it out before we went to San Francisco for the day. But really we should have planned to spent the day at IKEA because that’s how long it takes you to find the exit once you enter.

The purpose of IKEA is to give you great ideas on how to modernly furnish a small space while staying organized and still having room for storage. It does a great job of it too. Walking around the “store” and every turn of a corner being in a new perfectly decorated room made me feel like I was at a friend’s house (not one of my friends obviously, they all have no sense of style or decorating) and I should just settle in for the night to watch Now And Then for the hundredth time.

Since we were just doing a quick stop in at IKEA, after 30 minutes barely making it through the kitchen chairs department, we decided we better go before we ended up staying the night. Their were exit signs everywhere but they all seemed to just wind us through every department (smart, very smart) and never to anything that looked remotely like an exit. Eventually we found our way up and down a few flights of stairs, through the actual warehouse where you pick up your chosen items, past the food court (there were two), and finally to the three-story parking lot.

In the end I decided I love IKEA. The next time I go it’ll most definitely be for a full day trip, I’ll rent a few moving vans and purchase one of everything. You can’t stop me.

2 Responses to “I <3 IKEA”

  1. casallina August 30, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    I can’t believe you just discovered Ikea. That store is seriously like a drug. I can easily spend an entire day wandering aimlessly in there. (And yeah, they really do trick you into walking through the entire store to get to the exit). I have to stay away because every time I go, I leave with some storage basket or candle holder that I don’t even need. But you should be warned that assembling their furniture is a nightmare.

    • Little Black Wedding Dress August 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      I used to consider myself somewhat of a pro at assembling any kind of furniture that came in a box. Then I purchased an oddly shaped desk at Target, even laughing in the face of the “4 hour assembly time”. Four and a half hours in I gave up. The desk I made was oddly shaped but not the cute odd shape it was meant to be.So now I take any “assembly nightmare” warnings seriously. I’ll just stick to pillows, picture frames, measuring cups and anything that looks like my husband might be able to put it together from IKEA. His furniture assembly ego hasn’t been shattered yet.

Leave a Reply

