Group Interview

12 Oct

I recently went on a job interview. A two-hour group job interview. Ugh.

On this job interview we were asked a question I’ve never been asked in an interview before, or being someone who was responsible for doing interviews for a few years, it was a question I’ve never thought to ask people I was interviewing either. Which is a shame really because it was such a fantastic interview question…

“If you had to bring two things from home that would tell me something about yourself what would they be?”

Great question. In a group of maybe 30, not so great answers.

They said your answer could include people (which is lame because obviously people will take the easy way out and say they’ll bring their Mom, which they did). Other people said things like their purse (another cop-out, you can put anything in your purse, that’s like saying I’m gonna bring a suitcase full of random crap, keeping it vague and not really telling us anything about themselves). Anything else anyone said I didn’t pay much attention too, don’t worry I pretended like I was listening.

Oh there was this one girl who refused to answer any questions. She was extra shy and kept saying “I don’t know”. At first the interviewers would tell her they would come back to her, then about 30 minutes in they started skipping her altogether. Doubt she got hired. Maybe if she could have really brought her Mom, her Mom could have answered the questions for her.

Anyhoo, what would I bring you ask? Oh you didn’t ask? Well I’m gonna tell you anyway, hell you’re the one reading this crap anyway (there must be something wrong with you).

My computer – First of all it’s probably my favorite possession. Bernadette (that’s what I’ve named my laptop) and I can take over the world, or like create a Google+ account or something. Plus if looking through my social networking sites doesn’t tell you everything you need to know about me, nothing will. Not to mention if they found this blog. Oh God. On second thought they wouldn’t hire me if they saw any of this. Damn it. I knew “My Totally Irrational / Rational Fears” was going too far.

My book collection – ALL OF IT. That’s right I’d drag in boxes and boxes of books. Then I’d talk for hours about my favorites. I’d put together a 2 hour Powerpoint presentation with Bernadette on why Khaled Hosseini’s “A Thousand Splendid Suns” was so fantastic. Go into a tizzy about the first half of “The Host” being slow and boring but totally being worth it if you don’t give up halfway through. And don’t even get me started on writing books. After the six hours this will all take, with line graphs, charts, Venn diagrams, polls, and a lengthy group discussion, they will have no choice but to hire me. That or have security forcibly remove me, you know whichever.

BTW: I got the job.

2 Responses to “Group Interview”

  1. Cassandra October 12, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I love Venn diagrams!

    • Little Black Wedding Dress October 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Me too!

Leave a Reply

